GB Road – In mind and then real.

Standard

 

GB road, my initial experiences with this word was little different.  I came to Delhi from a small town and took admission in reputed Delhi University College. Introduction of GB road was little weird. My peers told me that this is some place where people go for fun and my friends were actually asking for a trip to GB road on my birthday. I thought this must be a place of some fun activities, some place where people can go and enjoy but then later on I got to know the real meaning of the term ‘fun’. The actual meaning of fun was sex and GB road was the official red light area of Delhi.  Friends used to tell their ‘fun’ filled stories and experiences of GB road and each story was told multiple times during multiple hostel sessions. Sometime I also thought about going on GB road but then family ethics and a fear from police never allowed me to go there. Simultaneously some haunted stories from friend also restricted me from going there. There was a feeling in mind that GB road is not a place for humans it is a devil place where people can do anything for money.

Time passedmany things happened over the course of time but whenever I used de-boarding and boarding train from new delhi railway station I always used to think GB road is somewhere around. My mind always used to imagine a place where women are waiting for men, seeking to sell their body without shame! So many other stories used to hover my mind all the time. But in the I used to imagine that people, people who are visiting GB road and who are working on GB road, are few sex maniac people who need sex. But then my mind- story changed and a new episode of my life started.

It was my birthday again. Life was adding another layer on the loop and I was at the same point but one level up. I decided to do some good work on my birthday and incidently I came to know about kat katha. I spoke with gitanjali and she just invited me to visit kat-katha. that very day I couldn’t sleep for whole night. I was just thinking hundreds of things. All the stories told by my friends and stories I imagined in my mind. I was thinking how will be going there. What will happen if I will end up as a forceful client? Shall I keep some condoms with me? I talked about it to my friends about it but still so many question were in my mind especially I was wondering about how a sex worker can have kids? And this was one major hitting point because Kat katha was about giving life choices to sex workers and their kids. I couldn’t believe on the fact that they also can have family and kids.

Next day I reached on New Delhi metro station and came out of gate number 3. I asked about GB road to few people.  I was worried what will I be saying if I encountered someone known. Still somehow I reached to the place kat-katha was working from. It was a cave like stairs and a 4-5 year old girl came downstairs and took me up in a room where a young 25-26 year old girl was making shapes on a chart paper and other tiny little kids were filling them with colors. It was so pleasing and surprising for me. The young girl was gitanjali. it was amazingly energetic to meet her and talk to her.  I was really feeling surprised that people come here to give colours to thier  life. It was amazing to see that people have come up to work for causes. Also, I was feeling changed may be because I was leaving behind many imaginations which were generated because of many stories. That I day I could the real inspiration in my life.

The another amazing moment was to meet Ritu. I couldn’t belive my self that a person doing PHD from JNU, which is known to world as a place of intellects, is working with sex workers. I had a believe that every JNU student feels over the top, on cloud nine always but after meeting Ritu I felt this is not true. That day itself I could feel their presence in my life and that was the day and today is the day I never found myself away from Kat-katha and kat-katha became a integral part of my life.

– Narendra

Leave a Reply

